Peekaboo Heart

Peekaboo HeartIt’s been a busy time here…I started Spring cleaning early because we have had the most bitter Winter ever.  It forced me to spend a lot of time inside and my daughter to have numerous snow days from school, which in Minnesota, is pretty rare!  We are brave Winter people.  However, the temps and wind chill have been so ultra cold this year, it has made it unbearable to be outdoors for extended periods.

My studio is getting cleaner, which helps in the productivity department, not to mention inspiration!

Also, in 2014, I have joined two different quilting organizations.  MQG (Modern Quilt Guild) and SAQA (Studio Art Quilt Associates).  I added these two national/regional group memberships to my current membership with American Quilters Society, and to round out the other local groups I belong to.  Locally, I belong to the Minnesota Quilters guild, Chaska Area Quilt Club, and have a couple small quilting groups I enjoy meeting with.  I’m immersing myself in my art wholeheartedly, and it feels really good!

With SAQA, there was an immediate opportunity to participate in a call for entry for a trunk show.  SAQA is celebrating its 25th Anniversary!  The trunk show is a three year, traveling exhibition for SAQA members to share an art quilt they’ve created in a 10″ x 7″ size that showcases their artistic expression.   These art quilts will debut at the SAQA Conference in May.  What you see above is my entry, Peekaboo Heart.

Peekaboo Heart was made of my own hand-dyed fabrics, and digital fabric I designed.  I like it’s bright and bold appearance, and how I’ve used the positive and negative space to share one of my favorite symbols, the heart.  I even accented the kaleidoscope design in the heart with seed beads to give it a little extra sparkle.
So you see this digital fabric print in the quilt…I’m having a great time designing surface patterns on my iPad.  I play on it daily, exploring and experimenting with a lot of different apps.  There are so many great ones out there with wonderful tools for editing digital imagery.  I start with either a photo I’ve taken, or an image drawn directly on my iPad.  One of my favorite apps is called Crazy Camera, created by Jeremiah Gage.  I’ve been participating as a beta tester.  I like the variety of filters it offers.
I have a number of quilts in the works.  I’ve even sent my first one off to a longarmer!  Like all of us, I have more ideas and fabric than time!  I think the longarm quilting services will be very helpful to keep me moving forward and completing quilts.  I look forward to sharing my works in progress with you here for 2014!
Cheers!  XO
