Cardinal Love

Cardinal Love

Cardinal Love is my latest freeform embroidered art quilt. The Cardinal is my most favorite bird. This picture was photographed by my BIL, Steve Frye, who owns The Wild Bird Center in Boulder, Colorado. It was taken in Minnesota on his last vacation here. I altered the photo slightly with PhotoShop and then printed it on fabric via Spoonflower. The fabric panels are going to be sold in shops and on Etsy. They are a nice weight for hand embroidery. Other options would be thread painting with your sewing machine, or even just as a fabric panel itself, it could be framed or put into a decorative pillow design.

I am working on his female companion at the moment. As soon as she is complete, I will update this post on buying information for the panels and kits for each bird.

If you are interested in learning my freeform embroidery techniques and art quilt style, I offer classes. Please visit my classes page on my website. Thanks!

