Delphinium Lace and Northern Cardinals arriving in shops this Summer!

DelphiniumLaceI’m feeling on a roll now.  The Art in Bloom event at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts really kicked off Spring for me.  If you’d like to see some images from that event, please pop by my Instagram.  The picture above is a flower called Delphinium.  It came from the Bachman’s floral display at Art in Bloom.  I modified the picture I took in image editing software and will be printing it onto fabric via Spoonflower for my upcoming Modern Embroidered Wall Hanging class this July 20 at Make It Sew in Chanhassen, MN.

Just like “Alma Apple” and “Big Red Tulip”, Delphinium Lace is third in a series of nature panels for freeform embroidery and quilting.  The first two panels in the series are available for purchase from (The Burlington Hotel & Quilt Shop.)  And BTW, the freeform embroidery class on April 20, was very enjoyable.  Thank you to my lovely students and shop owner, Kathi Korum!

The images I have been choosing to print as fabric have all had special meaning in my life.  Delphinium was one of the flowers in my wedding bouquet.  Belladonna Delphinium to be exact, which is a true, ultra blue variety.  This particular variety for the Delphinium Lace panel shows more deep purple in color.  And why Lace?  Because I will be incorporating it as a design motif into the finished artwork.  When the project is complete I’ll post a picture here.  For WIP pictures, please either visit Instagram or my Facebook Page.

Next in line are a set of Northern Cardinals.  A female cardinal panel and a male cardinal panel.  I’ve created them using photographs my BIL Steve took while visiting Minnesota over Easter this year.  These particular panels will first be taught in Boulder, Colorado.  As Steve owns the Wild Bird Center there.  We are still working on details for the class date.  I will keep you posted as I know more.

I hope the colors of Spring are making you feel joyful.  They sure do inspire me after a very long Winter this year!

