Getting my Geek Chic on!

geek style chalk waveI like to have a lot of “pots on the fire”, so to speak. My last post, you had read that I had entered the BERNINA WeAllSew Fabric Design Pinterest Contest. I am still waiting on the results from that one. So, I plunged ahead and got my Geek Chic on with the Spoonflower and Robert Kaufman Fabric8 contest. The picture above is my entry, Geek Style Chalk Wave.

This passion of mine to design textiles is not something I’m taking lightly. I feel it is my destiny. I may be small potatoes right now. But, I know there is a big market for my style of fabric. I appeal to the fiber artist who wants to create with textiles. I create to inspire creativity. I create fabric that is designed with color, line, and texture in mind. This fabric, Fryeber fabric, comes from a fiber artist perspective and not a commercial illustrator perspective. My fabric designs are like the colored pencils, pastels, markers, paint, dye, and fibers you’d use in surface design if you had the time to create it. My fabric is exactly what I look for and would want to buy in a store. It’s what I hope YOU want as well!

I have been around fabric and fiber arts for a long time now. I began machine sewing at 10 years old. I worked at my first fabric store when I was in high school. Since then, I have received an Art Education degree with an emphasis in Fibers and Design. And, I have worked and taught at a number of quilt shops in the Midwest for the past 5 or so years. I know about scale and repeat because I have cut yards and yards of fabric for the buying public. I see what colors and patterns they are drawn too. I am around people who sew, quilt, and create regularly, by attending a variety of guild and group meetings, and by continuing my education in taking classes and going to retreats. The inspiration and feedback abounds! Currently, through Social Media, I see what’s out there and who is designing what. I keep a pulse on trends and on my own fiber arts aesthetic. Plus, I must admit, I shop for “research & development”. Much to my husband’s chagrin, haha, I frequent many quilt shops locally and online, to keep the textile industry thriving! The stash is important! And, don’t WE know it!

Like I mentioned earlier, my emphasis is on color, line, and texture. They are what I find to be the most important elements in the fabric I want to use in my textile creations, whether they be a tote bag, jewelry, clothing, bed quilt, wall art, etc…

So, I will keep promoting my aesthetic by designing Fryeber fabric, using it in the projects I design, and then teach those projects to whomever wants to experience my passion. When you feel something so authentic and so moving, there is nothing that can inhibit its coming to fruition. It’s what I was destined to do.

And, I hope YOU come along for the creativity ahead…

