Woolen Oak, Woolen Week

I have wool on the brain this week for a number of reasons…

woolen oak

First of all, I get to meet Sue Spargo this weekend.  I’m attending a wool applique and embroidery class and lectures she is giving through the Chaska Area Quilters.  I can hardly wait!

Second, it is America’s Wool Week via Campaign for Wool!  Bryant Park, NYC will become a wooly wonderland tomorrow, September 27, as part of the event.  Can’t wait to see pictures!

Third, it’s now Fall in Minnesota, and my mind immediately switches from cotton to wool.  I know both fibers are appropriate year round.  But, the warmth you get from wool makes me thinking cooler temperatures.  Do you like the oak leaves I made?  I wet-felted wool cloth then die-cut the shapes.  Though the shapes are the same, each one is unique in it’s coloring, just like nature.  They measure approximately 10″ tall.  Two are spoken for.  The remainder will become part of table runner for my mother-in-law.

2 thoughts on “Woolen Oak, Woolen Week

Comments are closed.