The Burlington Hotel and Quilt Shop: Summer 2012

This past weekend, I was at the newly opened Burlington Hotel and Quilt Shop in Alma, Wisconsin.

I taught a fabric beads class to five lovely women.  It was a wonderful experience for my first time teaching this class out of state.  They were great students and turned out fabulous beads.  We had a lot of fun and laughs.  Everyone left smiling.  I hope to see them again in the Fall.

My host was Kathi Korum, who owns the hotel and shop.  She is also a friend of mine, as we worked together in the past at The Sampler in Chanhassen, Minnesota.  She and her boyfriend Duane are doing the renovating of the historical building built in 1891.  It is a very big undertaking.  But they have passion and drive, and are getting it done, beautifully.  Their faces light up as they speak of their progress.  It makes me so happy to see good people having success with their entrepreneutial dreams.  Go indie business!

The shop is very fresh and quaint inside.  There is a nice selection of fabrics and Kathi carries Mettler thread!  I love how the bolts of fabric are displayed on the towers.  You can easily see and handle the fabric. I bought some fat quarters and thread to add to my stash.  Next time, I will come prepared with my thread color wish list!  The tall ceilings in the rooms lend themselves perfectly to displaying quilts.  I saw how they plan to install fixturing that will prevent many nail holes in the walls…this makes Duane very happy.  Picture rails, antique reproduction hooks, and cording.  It’s going to be so slick!

As part of the renovation process, Kathi and Duane have located a number of antique treasures to add to the historical charm.  I got a tour of the entire building.  There are some features of the hotel that are not yet open to the public that will be really cool…bar, dining area, and rooms.  Being a nostalgic person and loving antique treasures, I fell in love with the place instantly.

Literally, across the street from the building is the Mississippi River and railroad tracks.  We experienced the train a couple times while we were there.  There is a definite hustle and bustle of activity along Main Street.  Many cute shops and eateries.  In the summertime, there are many tourists either boating or motorcycle riding.

The drive from Eden Prairie to Alma was gorgeous and sunny.  My family traveled with me for the road trip.  We traveled down along Highway 35 for scenic water views, bluffs, flowers, and farms.  And, I had to drive by antique shops without stopping!  The horror!

Kathi and I are in discussion of my return this Fall.  I look forward to being a featured teacher at The Burlington Hotel and Quilt Shop!  I can’t wait to go back!

