FRYEBER Loves Wool

Welcome to my blog site! “FRYEBER” is a play on my last name, “FRYE” combined with “FIBER“! I have always loved everything about textiles and fiber. Well, mostly Art for that matter, and all things creative of course!

IMG_7524

I studied Art Education K-12 in college, and graduated with an emphasis in Fibers and Design from Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa. This meant besides drawing, painting, color theory, art history, etc… I got to explore fiber arts and surface design in depth… dyeing, silkscreening, stitchery, quilting, sewing, etc… I feel very fortunate for those years. Many times I wish I was back in college again! Having a degree in education, you develop a sense of lifelong learning. If you met me in person, you’d know I’m very curious and fearless when it comes to design. I like to try it all! I love to learn! I like to have fun!!

I felt lucky to be in the right place at the right time to come across the Crazy About Wool blog hop. I contacted Denise of Pieced Brain blog near the end of blog hop registration in hopes I could be added to the list of bloggers. (See, this curiosity thing pays off!) She welcomed me and I got to work!

Today, I am sharing with you a variety of items that I made using wool. My source for wool is swapping with friends, local quilt shops, fiber festivals, thrift shops, and online. I recently attended the Quilt Expo in Madison, WI. There were quite a few vendors of wool there! I had a great time perusing all the woolen goods and project samples!

IMG_7528

Looking at the top picture, the pumpkin is my special project. It was finished yesterday, just in time for the holidays! It consists of recycled sweaters, wet felted wool by me, and wool felt. I have embellished it with fibers using my Bernina sewing machine and #21 braiding foot. I have another light green one in the works. (I can see where this could be addicting if you are a wool thrifter like me! I find it easier to cut into used clothing than $20+ yard wool.) My favorite pumpkins are the more exotic ones in color, shape and texture…heirloom pumpkins and new hybrids. There are so many more funky cool options nowadays than your traditional Halloween pumpkin.

IMG_7527

The other items shown are things I’ve made recently, from 2005 on. Some were from workshops. The wet-felted and dyed scarves I made while studying with Chad Hagen at Siever’s Fiber Art School. The wet-felted purses were made at a Split Rock workshop at the University of Minnesota. Jorie Johnson was the instructor.

pincushion

You might recognize the rectangular pincushion upfront. Sue Spargo visited our quilt guild last Fall. I took her hand embroidery on wool workshop and created that colorful and textural circle embellished pincushion! So cute! Oh, and that mixed media necklace, it has a piece of wool felt for the moon! (I use my AccuCut and Sizzix machines to cut shapes.) The green oak leaves are wet felted wool that I made and die cut. Much faster than cutting those out by hand! Whew!

IMG_7513

I also like to collect vintage wool handmade items. Some are from my MIL. I even found a large, vintage floral needlepoint piece sitting in all its colorful wool loveliness at a local coffee shop. I couldn’t take my eyes off it! (For $50 I thought it was a bargain! Especially considering the cost of buying a handpainted canvas, wool, my time, and the cost to frame it!) So home it went, and it now hangs in my living room!

I really have been enjoying all the posts throughout this hop. There is so much talent and inspiration in this group. We are so fortunate to have the technology to share our wool passion with friends around the world! I hope you can stop by and visit my blog again in the future. Or, stop by my other social media sites. Instagram and Pinterest are my faves – eye candy!! I have many things in the works and will be sharing more Fryeber Art! Thanks for visiting! Please stop by and visit the other artists. Here’s a link to the entire Crazy About Wool blog hop schedule.

wool picture

18 thoughts on “FRYEBER Loves Wool

    • Thanks Denise! I sure had fun making it! Loved hunting for the sweaters! Fall is my favorite time of year. Thanks for organizing the blog hop! I enjoyed it!

  1. So nice to fine your blog , you have some vey interesting pieces , the pumpkin is wonderful and I envy you getting to go to Fibre art school , that would be such fun . Thanks for sharing your talents with us today .

  2. Love the unique thing you showed including the wool/sweater pumpkin. I have also taken some classes at Split Rock years ago. Your fiber creations are neat.

Comments are closed.